New General Secretary named for Asia Evangelical Alliance

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

The Asia Evangelical Alliance (AEA), formerly called Evangelical Fellowship of Asia (EFA), appointed Rev. Dr. Richard Howell as its new General Secretary in an installation Ceremony held in New Delhi on August 6, 2008.

Speaking on the occasion, Chairman Rev. Dr. Sam-Bok David Kim said, “Richard’s passion and vision for the region will take AEA to even greater heights. We are delighted with his willingness to serve in this capacity.”

Rev. Dr. Howell in his thanksgiving speech said the vision of AEA is “a discipled Asia for Christ.”
"Asia is the world's most populous continent, with almost four billion people, i.e. 60 percent of the world's current population,” said Rev. Dr. Howell. “Asia is home of majority of world living religions, which are at times in conflict with one another. The opportunity for AEA is to see church based transformational movements all over the continent, promoting peace, justice and reconciliation based on the revelation of God in Jesus Christ."

Rev. Dr. Howell, who is also the General Secretary of Evangelical Fellowship of India (EFI), takes over from Rev. Godfrey Yogarajah, who served as General Secretary of the alliance for seven years.

“Over the last seven years Rev. Godfrey Yogarajah, through is faithful, dedicated and servant leadership as played a key role in growing the impact and influence of AEA,” said the International Director of the WEA, Dr. Geoff Tunnicliffe, who was present at the event in New Delhi. “I am delighted that AEA has selected Dr. Richard Howell as its new General Secretary. Through his leadership of the Evangelical Fellowship of India Richard has a strong record of visionary and effective leadership. He has a real ability to build strategic partnerships for ministry impact. This is exactly what is needed in this large, complex and growingly influential region of the world.”

The executive committee of the AEA is as follows:
Rev. Dr. Sang-Bok David Kim: Chairman (Korea)
Rev. Dr Richard Howell: General Secretary (India)
Rev. Dr. Manoch Jangmook (Thailand)
Rev. Tony Yeo (Singapore)
Rev. Godfrey Yogarajah (Sri Lanka)
Rev. Sukamal Biswas (Bangladesh)
Bishop Cesar Vicente P. Punzalan (Philippines)
Rev. Paul H. Ueki (Japan)